Gundert_1832thumb_edited.jpg

HERMANN GUNDERT
02/04/1814 - 04/25/1893

Historian, theologian, teacher, missionary, linguist, writer and publisher

As one of the early missionaries of the Basel Mission, Hermann Gundert founded a mission station in Malabar in what is now Kerala in southern India. His extraordinary talent for languages ​​and his intensive preoccupation with "the country and its people" enable him to create important works in the Malayalam language used by the Keralese. This includes not least his folkloric and historical publications, his Malayalam grammar, his Malayalam-English dictionary, which has become a standard work, as well as the translation of the Bible and numerous hymns into Malayalam.

The British colonial government appointed him early in 1857 as school inspector for the provinces of Malabar and Kanara. His influence on curricula and upbringing in South India is still clearly visible and tangible today: every child knows his name. In 2000, in Thalassery, where he had lived for most of his stay in India, a monument nearly ten meters high was erected out of gratitude for him.

Hermann Gundert worked for the Calwer publishing association for over 30 years as a publisher, writer and theologian. He left his extensive knowledge in numerous documents that were digitized by the University of Tübingen with the support of the German research community and made available to the public.

HERMANN GUNDERT AND HIS GRANDSON HERMANN HESSE

Hermann Gundert conveyed his enthusiasm for Indian culture in particular to his grandson Hermann Hesse (1877-1962). The two "Hermänner" had a close bond and it was not uncommon for the grandson to sit with his grandfather and carefully listen to the fascinating stories from India.

Their special relationship also becomes clear in the following video when Hermann Hesse breaks off his stay at the Maulbronn seminar and flees home to his grandfather.

to the video Genie-Reisle

Hermann Hesse used his knowledge of Indian culture in Siddhartha - an Indian poem that was not published until 1922, after Hermann Gundert's death. Hermann Hesse wrote this book, which today even Indians appreciate as a "cultural asset" without ever having been to India.

Thanks to Gundert's grandson Hermann Hesse, the family tradition lives on to a large extent in literature - both in German and in many of the world's languages ​​into which Hesse's works have been translated. For Hermann Hesse, the grandfather was the central authority figure in the family, whom he described not only in Siddhartha as the ferryman Vasudeva, but also as the music master in the Glasperlenspiel (1943). In the memory of Grandfather (1952) and the autobiographical fairy tale Childhood of the Magician (1923) he portrayed him impressively.

Schoder_Rikscha%26Hesse_edited.jpg
Ganesha.jpg

Hermann Hesse

about his grandfather Hermann Gundert

"He, the old, venerable, mighty man, with a white beard, omniscient, more powerful than father and mother, he was in possession of completely different things and powers, his was not just the Indian toys and gods, all that carved and painted, Consecrated with magic, coconut cups and sandalwood chests, hall and library, he was also a magician, a knower, a sage. He understood all the languages of men, more than thirty, maybe also those of the gods, maybe also the stars, he knew Pali and Write and speak Sanskrit, he could sing Canarese, Bengali, Hindostan, Sinhalese songs, knew the prayer exercises of the Mohammedans and Buddhists, although he was a Christian and believed in the Triune God, he was in eastern, hot, dangerous countries for many years and decades had been, had traveled on boats and in ox-carts, on horses and mules, no one knew as he did that our city and our country were only a very small part of the population de was that a thousand million people believed differently from us, had different customs, languages, skin colors, different gods, virtues and vices than we did. I loved, adored and feared him, I expected everything from him, I trusted him to do everything, from him and his disguised god Pan in the garb of the idol I learned incessantly. "

Childhood of the Magician, Frankfurt 1974, p. 99

THE POET HERMANN GUNDERT

  After the death of his mother, Hermann Gundert wrote the following poem at the age of 19:

  On August 12th, 1833

That evening is coming
Should I complain?
That the sun goes
Tired of day's work
That the clouds are all around
Dark shadows draw,
That the stars descend
Flickering in the silence of the night?
[...]

You stand on the threshold
Of your century!
Here the cradle where you cried
There the worlds that await you!
And the accomplished ones above,
Waving to happier work,
And the entrusted below,
Wavering in honest striving!

Raise your right hand
Which you once gave her,
That the battle-tested
Help to the last step! -
The ever beloved!
But leave the left
And your warning eye
And love's memory flame
The younger pilgrims!

CONTACT

We look forward to the contact and exchange!
Your Hermann Gundert Society

Thank you very much!

Handschrift HG.jpg

Gundert_1832thumb_edited.jpg

HERMANN GUNDERT
04.02.1814 - 25.04.1893

Historiker, Theologe, Lehrer, Missionar, Sprachwissenschaftler, Schriftsteller und Verleger

Als einer der frühen Missionare der Basler Mission gründet Hermann Gundert in Malabar im heutigen Kerala in Südindien eine Missionsstation. Seine außergewöhnliche Sprachbegabung und seine intensive Beschäftigung mit "Land und Leuten" ermöglichen es ihm, bedeutende Werke in der von den Keralesen benutzten Malayalam-Sprache zu erstellen. Dazu zählen nicht zuletzt seine volkskundlichen und historischen Veröffentlichungen, seine Malayalam-Grammatik, sein zu einem Standardwerk gewordenes Malayalam-Englisch-Wörterbuch sowie die Übertragung der Bibel und zahlreicher Kirchenlieder ins Malayalam.

Die britische Kolonialregierung beruft ihn Anfang 1857 zum Schulinspektor der Provinzen Malabar und Kanara. Sein Einfluss auf die Lehrpläne und die Erziehung in Südindien ist bis heute deutlich sicht- und erlebbar: jedes Kind kennt seinen Namen. Im Jahr 2000 wurde ihm in Thalassery, wo er die längste Zeit seines Indienaufenthaltes gelebt hatte, aus Dankbarkeit ein nahezu zehn Meter hohes Denkmal gesetzt.

Hermann Gundert wirkte über 30 Jahre im Calwer Verlagsverein als Verleger, Schriftsteller und Theologe. Sein umfangreiches Wissen hinterließ er auf zahlreichen Schriftstücken, die durch die Universität Tübingen mit Unterstützung der deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft digitalisiert und der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht wurden. 

HERMANN GUNDERT UND SEIN ENKEL HERMANN HESSE

Hermann Gundert vermittelte seine Begeisterung für die indische Kultur insbesondere seinem Enkel Hermann Hesse (1877-1962). Die beiden "Hermänner" hatten eine enge Bindung und nicht selten saß der Enkel bei seinem Großvater und lauschte bedächtig den faszinierenden Geschichten aus Indien.

 

Ihre besondere Beziehung wird auch mit dem folgenden Video deutlich, als Hermann Hesse dem Aufenthalt im Seminar Maulbronn abbricht und zu seinem Großvater nach Hause flieht.

zum Video Genie-Reisle

Das Wissen über die Kultur Indiens hat Hermann Hesse unter anderem in Siddhartha - eine indische Dichtung verarbeitet, das erst 1922, nach Hermann Gunderts Tod, veröffentlicht wurde. Hermann Hesse schrieb dieses Buch, das heute selbst Inder als "Kulturgut" zu schätzen wissen, ohne selbst je in Indien gewesen zu sein.

Durch Gunderts Enkel Hermann Hesse lebt die Tradition der Familie zu einem guten Teil in der Literatur weiter – sowohl im Deutschen als auch in vielen Sprachen der Welt, in die Hesses Werke übersetzt wurden. Für Hermann Hesse war der Großvater die zentrale Autoritätsperson in der Familie, die er nicht nur in Siddhartha als Fährmann Vasudeva beschrieben hat, sondern auch im Glasperlenspiel (1943) als Musikmeister. In der Erinnerung Großväterliches (1952) und dem autobiografischen Märchen Kindheit des Zauberers (1923) hat er ihn beeindruckend porträtiert. 

Schoder_Rikscha%26Hesse_edited.jpg
Ganesha.jpg

Hermann Hesse

über seinen Großvater Hermann Gundert

"Er, der Alte, Ehrwürdige, Gewaltige, im weißen Bart, allwissend, mächtiger als Vater und Mutter, er war im Besitz noch ganz anderer Dinge und Mächte, sein war nicht nur das indische Götter- und Spielzeug, all das Geschnitzte, Gemalte, mit Zaubern geweihte, Kokosnußbecher und Sandelholztruhe, Saal und Bibliothek, er war auch ein Magier, ein Wissender, ein Weiser. Er verstand alle Sprachen der Menschen, mehr als dreißig, vielleicht auch die der Götter, vielleicht auch der Sterne, er konnte Pali und Sanskrit schreiben und sprechen, er konnte kanaresische, bengalische, hindostanische, singhalesische Lieder singen, kannte die Gebetsübungen der Mohammedaner und der Buddhisten, obwohl er Christ war und an den dreieinigen Gott glaubte, er war viele Jahre und Jahrzehnte in östlichen, heißen, gefährlichen Ländern gewesen, war auf Booten und in Ochsenkarren gereist, auf Pferden und Mauleseln, niemand wußte so wie er Bescheid darum, daß unsere Stadt und unser Land nur ein sehr kleiner Teil der Erde war, daß tausend Millionen Menschen anderen Glaubens waren als wir, andere Sitten, Sprachen, Hautfarben, andere Götter, Tugenden und Laster hatten als wir. Ihn liebte, verehrte und fürchtete ich, von ihm erwartete ich alles, ihm traute ich alles zu, von ihm und seinem verkleideten Gotte Pan im Gewand des Götzen lernte ich unaufhörlich."

Kindheit des Zauberers, Frankfurt 1974, S. 99

DER DICHTER HERMANN GUNDERT

 Nach dem Tod seiner Mutter verfasste Hermann Gundert als 19-Jähriger folgendes Gedicht:

 Am zwölften August 1833 

 

Daß es Abend wird,
Soll ich´s beklagen?
Daß die Sonne geht,
Müde von Tages Arbeit,
Daß die Wolken rings
Düstere Schatten ziehn,
Daß herab die Gestirne
Flimmern auf nächtliche Stille? 
[...]

Auf der Schwelle stehst du
Deines Jahrhunderts!
Hier die Wiege, da du geweinet,
Dort die Welten, die dich erwarten!
Und die Vollendeten droben,
Winkend zu froherem Wirken,
Und die Anvertrauten unten,
Schwankend in redlichem Streben!

Beut die Rechte hinauf,
Die du ihr einmal gegeben, -
Daß die Kampferprobte
Helfe zum letzten Schritt! -
Der ewig Geliebten!
Aber die Linke laß
Und dein mahnendes Auge
Und der Liebe Gedächtnisflamme
Den jüngeren Pilgern!

KONTAKT

Wir freuen uns auf den Kontakt und Austausch!
Ihre Hermann-Gundert-Gesellschaft

Herzlichen Dank!

Handschrift HG.jpg